Orthopaedic Manipulative


The Orthopaedic Manipulative Physiotherapy Group (OMPTG) is a Special Interest Group (SIG) of the South African Society of Physiotherapy (SASP) and was established in 1974.

OMPTG encompasses, and is driven by available scientific and clinical evidence, and the biopsychosocial framework of each individual patient. The South African OMPTG is affiliated with the International Federation of Manipulative Physiotherapists (IFOMPT), which is a non-government federation representing international collaboration in Manipulative Therapy. IFOMPT is a recognized sub-group of the World Confederation for Physical Therapy (WCPT), which in turn is a part of the World Health Organization (WHO).


The physiotherapists that belong to this group have a special interest in assessing and treating neuro-musculoskeletal (NMS), spinal and peripheral joint disorders using a clinically reasoned hands-on approach of manual therapy and rehabilitation.


The OMPTG has aligned their vision to the needs of our members and therefore our members benefit form free online subscription to the Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports and Physical Therapy (JOSPT), discounted subscription fees to the Journal of Manual Therapy, 6 free online CPD questionnaires per year (18 CEU’s), reduced registration fees for CPD local and international courses run by the OMPTG and free talks organised by local provincial OMPTG branches (free CEU’s!). There are also a few additional benefits such as access to the ‘members only’ section of the OMPTG website and the OMPTG Update (monthly newsletter in collaboration with Physiopedia) containing abstracts of the best published articles in ALL fields of Physiotherapy. Also, the OMPTG is a member of the International Federation of Orthopaedic Manipulative Therapy (IFOMPT) who is responsible for maintaining international standards and relations.

APDL2 course

The OMPTG presents the Orthopaedic Manipulative Therapy (OMT) course annually in various provinces throughout the country.

Social Media

Twitter: @OMPTGSA

Group Executive Committee

Designation Name  
Chairperson Pierre Roscher  
Professional development and vice chair Benita Oliver  
Secretary Marica Kok  
Treasurer Elna Kruger  
APDL2 course portfolio chair Anelenie Smit  
APDL2 course portfolio chair Wilna Foot  
APDL2 administration Eliz-Mari Vermeulen  
PR & marketing Celene Buitendach  


Contact Us